Eyes of a Friend

Life with companion animals

Few US Adults Report Having A Healthy Lifestyle

on July 27, 2009

According to an article in Science Daily, researchers found that only three percent of U.S. adults maintain a healthy lifestyle. A healthy lifestyle was defined as

1. nonsmoking;

2. healthy weight;

3. consuming five or more fruits and vegetables a day; and

4. regular physical activity (at least 30 minutes of moderate physical activity at least five times a week)

Seventy-six percent of people surveyed are nonsmoking; older people with more education, higher incomes and general good health were less likely to smoke than others . The 40.1 percent maintaining a healthy weight were likely to be younger, better educated and also in general better health. Only 23.3 percent of people reported consuming five or more fruits and vegetables a day and only 22.2 percent reported undertaking regular physical activity (they don’t walk their dog !!?? ).

I’ve never smoked (when I found out what “inhaling” felt like – I quit trying to learn), but I’ve never liked the taste of vegetables other than baked potatoes, fried potatoes, corn, white rice, and some more fried potatoes. Fruits taste better, but I still mostly drink orange juice or V8-Fusion with fruits/vegetables (and sugar) and some watermelon in the summer. Weight has been an issue since I turned 30 (over 36 years ago) – mostly because of my taste for fried foods and sweets, but having a dog has always meant going for two walks a day and that has helped keep the weight from going even higher. I’ve lost about 30 pounds since my brother died and I started taking care of his cats and his home, but my BMI ratio still puts me in the overweight class.

If I started eating more veggies and fruits and less sweets and fried foods, I could probably lose a lot more weight… Gee, when’s the last time I thought about that! When’s the FIRST time I thought about that!? — about 50 years ago?! We’ll see if I decide to try for a healthier lifestyle in my mid-60’s.

How about YOU?

Read article

Leave a Reply

